Civic polls: TDP sweeps Seemandhra, Congress shines in Telangana

Jagan' Mohan Reddy's YSR Congress and TRS, the party that led the Telangana movement, fare badly

By M Suchitra
Last Updated: Monday 17 August 2015

The impact of the Centre’s decision to bifurcate Andhra Pradesh and form a separate state of Telangana was visible in the results of the urban local bodies declared on May 12. While the Congress was virtually wiped out in Seemandhra, the party fared well in Telangana.

The Telugu Desam Party (TDP), led by Chandrababu Naidu, emerged as a clear winner in Seemandhra, and the Congress bagged more seats than Telangana Rashriya Samithy (TRS), led by K Chandrasekhar Rao, in Telanagana. TRS was the party that was leading the Telangana movement.

In Seemandhra, 92 municipalities and seven corporations and in Telangana, 53 municipalities and three corporations went to polls on March 30.

TDP, which has an alliance with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), won five corporations and 65 municipalities in Seemandhra. The nearest rival, YSR Congress (YSRC), led by Jaganmohan Reddy, could pocket only two corporations and 20 municipalities. TDP almost swept the polls in East Godavari and West Godavari districts, which are usually YSRC bastions. In all, TDP won 1,451 wards and YSRC won 850, which means TDP has managed to get almost 20 per cent more councillors than YSRC. The Congress won just two corporation divisions and 51 municipal wards across the 13 districts of Seemandhra.

It was a different story for the Congress in Telangana where it won 23 municipalities. TRS managed only 11, while the TDP-BJP alliance won five.

The Majlis-e-Ittehadul-Muslimeen (MIM), which contested the elections seriously after a gap of 27 years, and the Bahujan Samajwadi Party won one municipality seats each. None of the parties got absolute majorities in the three corporations in Telangana. The Congress and TRS are expected to join hands with independent candidates to rule in one corporation each. In the Nizamabad municipal corporation, the Congress and MIM may share the power.

Elections for the 10 corporations and 145 municipalities of Telangana and Seemandhra were held on March 30. The counting, however, was delayed in the wake of the general elections.

Meanwhile, the counting of votes polled during Andhra Pradesh’s Zilla Parishad Territorial Constituency (ZPTC) and Mandal Parishad Territorial Constituency (MPTC) elections is under way. The elections were held on April 6 and 11 respectively.

Local body poll results at a glance
Seemandhra No of municipalities—92
TDP 65
Hung 7
Congress Nil
Seemandhra Number of corporations—7
Telangana Number of municipalities—53
Congress 23
TRS 11
Hung 12
Telangana Number of corporations—3

(No party got absolute majority)

TRS+ Independents 1
Cong + independents 1
Cong+ MIM 1

Report: JUSTICE Srikrishna’s INJUSTICE : How SKC Report tried to suppress truth and deceive Telangana

Report: Justice Srikrishna Committee for consultations on the situation in Andhra Pradesh (Justice Srikrishna Committee report on Telangana)

Report: Small States’ creation: neither panacea nor placebo

Subscribe to Weekly Newsletter :

Comments are moderated and will be published only after the site moderator’s approval. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name. Selected comments may also be used in the ‘Letters’ section of the Down To Earth print edition.