Take Note

Published: Wednesday 15 September 2004

The European Commission has traversed an important milestone towards emissions trading by approving eight national allocation plans for carbon dioxide emission allowances. While the plans of Denmark, Ireland, the Netherlands, Slovenia and Sweden were cleared without any alterations, those of Austria, Germany and the UK were approved subject to some changes being made. Written warnings were sent to Greece and Italy for not submitting their plans.

Subscribe to Daily Newsletter :

Comments are moderated and will be published only after the site moderator’s approval. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name. Selected comments may also be used in the ‘Letters’ section of the Down To Earth print edition.