Science & Technology

CSIR announces the winners of Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar prize for 2019

The prize carries a cash component of Rs 5 lakh and is awarded for outstanding research, both fundamental applied

By Sunderarajan Padmanabhan
Published: Friday 27 September 2019

Awardees of the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award pose for a photograph. Photo: scientists from different institutions across the country have been chosen for the prestigious Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar prize for 2019.

The award winners include Kayarat Saikrishnan of Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune and Soumen Basak of National Institute of Immunology, New Delhi for biological sciences, Raghavan B Sunoj of IIT, Bombay and Tapas Kumar Maji of Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bengaluru for chemical sciences, and Dishant Pancholi of the Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai, and Nina Gupta of Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata for mathematical sciences.

The other winners are Dheeraj Kumar of International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, New Delhi and Mohammad Javed Ali of LV Prasad Eye Institute, Hyderabad for medical sciences, Aninda Sinha of IISc, Bengaluru, and Shankar Ghosh of TIFR, Mumbai for physical sciences,  Subimal Ghosh of IIT, Bombay for earth, atmosphere, ocean and planetary sciences, and Manik Varma of Microsoft Research India, Bengaluru for engineering sciences.

Shekhar C Mande, the director general of the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), announced the winners on the occasion of CSIR Foundation Day on September 26, 2019.

The prize carries a cash component of Rs 5 lakh each. It is awarded annually for outstanding research, both fundamental and applied. It is named after the founder director general of CSIR, Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar. (India Science Wire)

Subscribe to Daily Newsletter :
Related Stories

Comments are moderated and will be published only after the site moderator’s approval. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name. Selected comments may also be used in the ‘Letters’ section of the Down To Earth print edition.