Science & Technology

CSIR announces Young Scientist Award 2020

The award will be given to seven scientists working in different institutions of CSIR

By India Science Wire
Published: Friday 31 July 2020

Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) has announced Young Scientist Award for the year 2020. The award will be given to seven scientists working in different institutions of CSIR for their achievements in biological sciences, chemical sciences, earth, atmosphere, ocean and planetary sciences, engineering sciences and physical sciences. 

For biological sciences, Debojyoti Chakraborty, senior scientist from Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology (IGIB) and Vandana Jaiswal, scientist, Division of Biotechnology from Institute of Himalayan Bioresource Technology (IHBT) have been honoured. In the chemical sciences field, Suraj Soman, scientist, Chemical Sciences and Technology Division, National Institute for Interdisciplinary Science and Technology (NIIST) will receive the award. 

In the area of earth, atmosphere, ocean and planetary sciences, Jagadeesan Loganathan, scientist, NIO Regional Centre (Vishakhapatnam), National Institute of Oceanography (NIO) will receive the honour.

For engineering sciences, Indu Elizabeth, scientist, Physico-Mechanical Division, National Physical Laboratory (NPL) and Manoj Kumar Patel, senior scientist, Agrionics (V-1), Central Scientific Instruments Organisation (CSIO) will be receiving the award. Manoj Kr Gupta, scientist, Advanced Construction Materials Division, Advanced Materials and Processes Research Institute (AMPRI) will receive the award for physical sciences (including instrumentation). 

The award comprises a citation, a cash award of Rs 50,000, and a plaque. CSIR confers YS Award every year in the five disciplines.

Subscribe to Daily Newsletter :
Related Stories

Comments are moderated and will be published only after the site moderator’s approval. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name. Selected comments may also be used in the ‘Letters’ section of the Down To Earth print edition.