Gore, IPCC share peace prize

Last Updated: Saturday 04 July 2015

the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (ipcc), headed by R K Pachauri, and the former us vice-president, Al Gore. Their achievement, said the Nobel Committee in Oslo, is international action on climate change before it gets out of mankind's control.

The award to Al Gore came in the same week when a court in the uk declared parts of his film An Inconvenient Truth to be scientifically inaccurate.

Albert Fert of France and Peter Grnberg of Germany won the Nobel prize for Physics for discovery of giant magnetoresistance. In Chemistry, Gerhard Ertl of Germany won the award for his studies of chemical processes on solid surface. Mario Capecchi and Oliver Smithies of the us, and Martin J Evans of the uk, shared the prize for medicine. They discovered principles for introducing specific gene modifications in mice by using of embryonic stem cells. The prize in economic went to Leonid Hurwicz, Eric Maskin and Roger Myerson from the us.

Subscribe to Weekly Newsletter :

Comments are moderated and will be published only after the site moderator’s approval. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name. Selected comments may also be used in the ‘Letters’ section of the Down To Earth print edition.